Foraginglondon's Blog

For all your foraging needs in London

Sloe Gin Chocolate Truffles 01/01/2011

Filed under: foraging — foraginglondon @ 18:26
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The last few weeks have been manic. Our Duck ‘n’ Donuts night was a massive hit. We have since made duck soup from the carcass’s and have the minced meat and vegetables in the freezer waiting to be turned into meatballs for a third meal.

Christmas day and boxing day have passed, and I still have some Sole Gin Chocolate Truffles to nosh on. The sloes were used to make Sloe Gin and are now soaked in the gin and sitting in the freezer. Having now made them, and been eating them over the last few days I can vouch for this recipe.

Ingredients:

25g/1oz unsalted butter
75ml/3fl oz/5tbsp double cream
225g/8oz good quality Belgian chocolate
75g stoned sloes, broken up and softened with a pestle and mortar
2 tbsp sloe gin

Method:

1. Line a Swiss roll tin with baking parchment. Please note that I just used a round ceramic bowl, which seemed to do the trick, so don’t be put off by this.

2. Place butter and cream in a small saucepan and bring slowly to the boil, stirring constantly. Boil for one minute then remove from the heat.

Butter and milk boiling

Butter and milk boiling

3. Break the Belgian chocolate into pieces and add to the cream. Stir until melted, then mix in the sloes and sloe gin.

Broken up chocolate

Broken up chocolate

Gin soaked Sloes

Gin soaked Sloes without pips

4. Pour the mixture into the prepared swiss roll tin and chill in the fridge for about 2 hours until firm.

5. Break off pieces of the mixture and roll into balls. Chill for a further 30 minutes before finishing the truffles.

6. I just coated them in coca powder, but there are recipes that suggest rolling them in hazelnuts, but I couldn’t wait to try them.
7. Place the truffles in paper cases and refrigerate to set.

Sloe Gin Chocolate Truffles

Sloe Gin Chocolate Truffles top right-hand corner

 

4 Responses to “Sloe Gin Chocolate Truffles”

  1. Yasmine Says:

    Right, I’m off to buy butter and cream and I’m going to try this. I’ll let you know how I get on!

  2. Yasmine Says:

    OK, I’ve made too batched of truffles. I have to say they are very nice. I didn’t have a trouble free experience though!

    For batch one the chocolate curdled very badly, with the fat separating out from the chocolate. I left it to set and then hand mixed the mixture and the fat recombined quite easily. The truffles tasted fine, but the texture was a bit grainy.

    Before batch two I did a bit of research online and did two things differently: I brought the cream to a simmer rather than a boil, and I cut the chocolate up into very small pieces. The chocolate still curdled, but not as badly. I also added sugar to the sloes as the first batch was quite bitter (I make my sloe gin with only a tad of sugar). This lot tastes better and the texture is OK.

    I’ve run out of chocolate for now, but still have plenty of sloes, so I’ll try this again sometime soon.

    Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

    Yasmine

    • Yasmine,

      Glad you found time to try this. I loved the boozy flavour and texture of fruit with the chocolate. I think I added more sugar than you when making the sloe gin, so didn’t find it bitter.

      I didn’t have a problems with chocolate curdling so not entirely sure what happened there. I think I might have melted the chocolate (in a bowl on top of the suacepan) and then mixed it with the cream and butter? Will check and then possibly amend the recipe.

      I will be making rosehip biscuits next week, not sure if you picked any but could be fun.

      Jon

  3. dittander Says:

    Thanks for the recipe, I have been meaning to try these for some time, I will have to wait until I finish my bottle of sloe gin. Recipes normally say to take the sloes out after 3 months, but I left them in one bottle from two years ago and it gives it a stronger, deeper flavour.
    I have just started a blog about foraging in London: http://dittander.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

