Foraginglondon's Blog

For all your foraging needs in London

Rosehip oil 31/01/2011

Filed under: foraging — foraginglondon @ 12:38
Tags: , , , ,

It is late January and I still have plenty of rosehips left. The thought of making more marmalade, jam, jelly, or chutney fills me with dread. The amount of sugar in these recipes also puts me ill at ease with the concept of local foraging and then making local products. This uneasiness might be mis-placed, and I’m willing to be convinced otherwise.

I had a look through the Internet today for more rosehip recipes, and I’ve come across this simple rosehip oil recipe created by Clare Flynn on the makeitandmendit website, which can be found here.

For the purposes of my blog I will use her recipe method with my pictures. I plan on giving this oil to some people and see if they think it makes a difference.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of rosehips
  • 2 cups of chosen carrier oil (for this first attempt I’ve chosen cheap sunflower oil)

Method:

  1. Rinse the hips thoroughly and chop off the hairy heads and the tails. (not sure this step is required if the liquid will is going to be strained through a cheesecloth/muslin)Rosehips about to be mushed up
  2. As the hips I used were already quite soft this year I didn’t bother to chop them – if yours are still hard you can chop them or bung them in a blender for a bit.
  3. Put the hips into a heavy bottomed pot (avoid aluminium pots as they react with the rosehips and compromise the vitamin C), and then add the carrier oil. Clare used almond oil, but this is considerably more expensive than sunflower oil, so I have used sunflower oil first time round, and if I’m happy with the outcome and confident then I’ll use a more expensive one in future.
  4. IMAG0751IMAG0752
  5. Let the mixture bubble away, occasionally taking the lid off to give it a quick stir and make sure it all looks OK. I let it simmer  for about four hours as my hips were quite squishy – for harder hips you may want to leave it cooking for up to eight hours.
  6. Take the oil and hip mixture and strain it – I used a jelly strainer – but some layers of cheesecloth laid over a glass measuring jug will do.

IMAG0754

  1. Once the mixture is strained and all traces of the rosehips removed you can decant the oil into jars.

IMAG0755

 

The oil definitely has a rosehip fragrance. I think I might have had the temperature a bit too high and might have fried the rosehips so suggest keeping it on a very low heat for several hours. The volume does not decrease by much so I managed to fill a 750ml brandy bottle and the smaller one above.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 637 other followers